About Me

Hi all! 

My husband and I in La Jolla, CA Sept 2013

My name is Rachel, I'm 34 and this is my fourth blog. I have a job as a Youth Services Library Assistant at my local public library, so I get to work with children, teens and their parents all day (which is exactly the subject I got my Masters in and what I want to do) . 

I was born in Germany, but grew up in the US, predominantly the Southeast, though I don't really have an accent unless I'm tired or happen to be around other Southerners. I currently live in Phoenix, Arizona and have lived in the state for 4 years. This is an entirely different climate from what I grew up with, but I enjoy living here although the summers are ridiculously hot. 

 Six Other Random Facts About Me:

  • I have been married for  9  years  to my amazing husband John, who is English.
  • We have an adorable, crazy and nearly 4 year old son, Liam. See pic below. 

  • The real Patch Adams (not the one played by the late Robin Williams in the film of the same name) visited my undergraduate school, Virginia Commonwealth University (VCU), when I was a freshman as well as my church. He was hilarious and I watched him actually get all the way inside a pair of clown pants, while standing on a stool in the pulpit. Some people were so offended they walked out. After watching him do a lecture at my school, I waited in line for awhile for an autograph and seeing that I didn't have one of his books, he told me to go get a free one. I went back to the end of the line to wait my turn, not wanting to cut in front of other people who had waited. After about 10 minutes, the guy who had originally been standing behind me came back to get me and told me to come up front. Patch was amazed that I was willing to wait in the back of the line and told me "If there were more people like you, there wouldn't be any wars," which is still to this day one of the best compliments I have ever gotten. 
  • I went to University of St. Andrews in Scotland at the same time that Prince William was studying there. Unfortunately he decided to switch from Art History (the department I was in) to Geography the year I got there. St. Andrews is a small town, but I never saw him out and about, which is odd as most of my friends did. 
  • I was once stuck in the Belgium town of Duffel at night after failing to get off the train at the right stop. I don't speak Dutch, as they do in the northern parts of Belgium, but luckily the people I was staying with came and rescued me. I later did a hand-built clay duffel bag commemorating this event during my undergraduate degree. 
  • I helped create/edit the print-version of Family Literacy Day by Day Calendar while completing an Independent Study with the South Carolina State Library. They have since turned it into an online calendar, an example of which can be found here
You can also find me:
Goodreads :  I also post my reviews on this site, but it includes my to-read list, as well as the complete list of book I have read.

Email: librarymaven14@gmail.com (all questions and concerns should be directed to this email)

1 comment:

  1. Rachel - so cool to see your new blog and that you have already put up at least one post on it! Great "About Me" on this site; we get a firm grounding of your day to day life as well as some more esoteric facts about you. Also, did not know that you went to VCU for undergrad: I am currently attending W&M which is only a little bit away! Also, I added you on Facebook. (:

    Even if I cannot get constant notifications every time you post because I do not have a blogspot account, I hope that we can maintain contact via other mediums, and that will remind me to check up on you here. (: